Raw Vegan Pumpkin Pie Recipe

I used Fully Raw Kristina’s inspiration, but I added some of my own ideas. But really, with so few ingredients, it’s not really “creative” It’s just easy and YUM!

1./2  can of raw pumpkin pie filling (Kristina uses an actual, raw pumpkin. I haven’t tried that way yet. Bravery comes in steps.)

walnuts (Kristina uses pecans…maybe this is my own recipe.)

Dates (whole, pitted medjool dates) I bought mine in boxes, and this will take about 2 boxes.

cinnamon

ginger

nutmeg

Almond milk. (optional).

I am not putting portions on the spices, because my son was helping me make this and we just put “a few shakes” from the container. So. Spices: To taste.

Get out your pie pan. I used a ceramic pie pan and I did not need to oil it first. If you are using a metal one, you might want to oil it to make sure it comes out ok, but mine was fine–NO sticking. and I didn’t use any kind of butter or oil.

Use a blender (food processor is better, but I only have a bullet). and mix the dates with the walnuts. About a handful of each per bullet and it takes about 4 bullets. So probably only one round in your food processor. I am really adding food processor to my Christmas list.

TIP: If you are using a bullet blender, put the dates in by themselves first and get them “chopped” then add the walnuts afterwards. Otherwise the dates remain whole and only the nuts get chopped. Likely if you are using a food processor this is an issue you will not have. Again, see Christmas list. 

Once this is blended together until it looks like a pie crust consistency, pour it into the pie pan and mash it around until it forms a crust. The walnuts make it crunchy and crust like, the dates make it sweet and sticky enough to form into a crust.

For the filling:

put about three spoon fulls of pumpkin and a handful of dates per bullet cup. add in about two shakes of cinnamon, one shake of nutmeg, and half a shake of ginger. not much ginger. More cinnamon than nutmeg and adjust to your taste. I’m a nutmeg person, so I had more of that in mine.  Also my son helped, so we may have added way more than anyone wants. haha. We also aldded just a splash of almond milk to help the bullet blend everything together, it was having a hard time with the thick pumpkin. If you are using a blender, or something more high powered, you can consider the almond milk optional.

Tip: Do not use water. It will make it way too runny. and only use a pinch of almond milk. The milk does add a creamy flavor, which we enjoyed, but you can leave that out if you don’t like it, or don’t have it, and you will still have an amazing pie. 

Blend. Repeat. Blend until you fill the pie pan.

DONE!! you can eat it right then, OR you can freeze it. We froze ours for an hour, then ate it for dessert that night.

We re-froze the leftovers overnight, and then last night I took it down out of the freezer and let it thaw in the fridge overnight. In the morning, my son and I ate it for breakfast. 🙂 YUM!!

 

Enjoy!

Ok, so we ate all of our pie, and there are no pictures of mine. So I borrowed these pictures from a few of my favorite raw vegan blogs. The pictures really do represent what ours looked like–you know, before we ate it. I have linked all of the images to their respective blog pages, where  they have great pumpkin pie recipes, too, that you may want to try.

 

SONY DSC

ok, my bullet is really horrible at this job, so imagine this image but with large pieces of dates that never blended in well….remember you can click these images to see other recipes!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

pie-crust

Taylor Alexis–she uses pecans, too. Apparently, that’s the theme. But I like walnuts! 🙂 You can use what you like, too 🙂 Get creative!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

frozen pie

I’m not actually sure how their pie is this firm (Maybe that’s where using fresh pumpkin is handy..) Mine was this firm when it was frozen…but to be that frozen it was also too cold to eat….don’t worry, though. Ours still looked like pie when it was thawed (in the fridge) and it was yummy.

 

Leave a Reply

