M&Ms destroying your credibility

siteowner_characters1Whenever my son goes to school or organized events, he is placed in the “food allergy” category, because I request he not be given any processed foods at all.

I feel ok about this, because I’ve accepted that a parent having preferences about their child’s food intake is novel, (why??) but I have a confession to make.

When it came to potty training, we have chosen to let E have about 5 M&M candies each time he goes and poopies in the potty by himself. That proved to be hugely motivating toward wanting to potty on his own. I just reached a point where the potty issue was a greater obstacle than the eating non-processed and I chose to not let it bother me. Note, this came after a year–a YEAR, of trying non-food rewards like stickers, toys, and trips to the library. These non-food items were cool, but they didn’t really function as enough of a “wow” factor to help overcome some very tangible fear about the potty itself. Without going into all of the child psychology of the whole situation,  suffice to say that we found  M&Ms were the way to his heart, and are proud to say he now goes by himself quite often, never failing to inform me that he “Needs his M&Ms” now. Works for me. A child who eats primarily fruit and raw vegetables, drinks water or unsweet tea with lemon, and has a grand total of about 10 M&Ms all day long. I think we’re fine nutritionally.

Let me just tell you, though, that inlaws and preschool teachers do not understand that you allow M&Ms for potty, but no goldfish crackers for snack. They give you this evil stare and go to great lengths to guilt you into thinking you are depriving your child of something. Ok, most do not really, but they do ask direct questions, and because I’m self-conscious, it feels a lot like guilt.

I saw an awesome quote on Facebook of all places, that sums up what is fast becoming my new motto for approaching issues like this, education, housing, debt, and so much more:

“In the end, you have to do what you believe in your heart to be right because it is you that has to live with your decision, not them.”

I take it mean that he is my son. I am responsible to God for his care, and ultimately I have to put that reality above what the family, friends, teachers, or whomever might think of me. I have to do what I feel is best for my son, period. (I think this conclusion is where Matt Walsh was at when he talked about vaccinations, (I have a personal blog where I discuss my musings on all things life, that’s where the links goes, if you’re curious.) Though please make your own decisions there. I’m not endorsing his position, but I’m not taking away any credibility from him, either) You, as your child’s parent, have to do what you think is best. After research, prayer, and the confirmation that my choices are not harmful, I choose to be different. Considering the SAD (Standard American Diet) of everyone around me, I’m not inclined to take the word of an overweight heart patient on matters of food. Just saying. (being one of those overweight people, I’m also convinced my traditional way of eating has got to go).

What do you do when people ask you questions, or question you, about your healthy lifestyle choices?

Leave a Reply

