Discipline Struggles

self-discipline-300x282-200x200I was watching “The Mentalist” last night and a man was being interviewed in the interrogation room. When asked about why he had committed an indiscretion, his reply was that “he couldn’t help himself.”

Of course, his lack of self-discipline was deplorable in that circumstance, because he had hurt another person and made a poor judgement call. Why? Because he wasn’t man enough to control himself. We call that kind of man a loser, and his inability to “help himself” landed his sorry behind in jail.

When it comes to my weight loss, I am–no pun intended–that same kind of loser. I know what needs to be done to lose weight, I know that my heath is on the line—literally with high blood pressure, increased cholesterol, heart disease in my family history—I know what’s very tangibly at stake for my life, and yet I choose to ignore it and made bad decisions because “I can’t help myself.”

That’s ultimately ridiculous, selfish, and the road to death.

When I was a child and I would break something out of carelessness, I would get in trouble (obviously). When I protested I’d declare “But I didn’t MEAN to!!!” and my mother would reply “It doesn’t matter that you didn’t mean to. I want you to MEAN NOT TO.”

Mean not to.

My more famous excuses include  things like “I can’t” or “It’s inconvenient”

or even go so far as to blame my choices on my son, saying “Well, my 3yo was hungry, and needed to eat something. Fast food was all there was available.”

“I don’t have time to cook.”
“I haven’t gone grocery shopping.”

“I don’t feel like vegetables.”
“I don’t like salad.”

“I’ll be hungry later.”

“You only live once, and I want that.”

“I cant afford organic.”

“people will make fun of me.”

“I have to eat it, my family/friends fixed it.”

“I don’t want to tell people I”m on a diet.”

“This isn’t fun.”

“I don’t like eating healthy.”

“I want to do what I want.”

 

4849321273_self_control_xlargeAnything sound familiar?

I actually believe in my mind that this reasoning justifies my sticking the various sources of fat and cholesterol in my mouth, chewing, and swallowing. It does not.

I know that most people are not going to radically change their life habits, their social eating, or their personal decisions simply because it is the right thing to do. Most will need to be faced with disease, injury, or impending death via cardiac arrest and serious conversations with doctors about blood clots before they take their healthy seriously. Why are we like this? We want to be beautiful, we want to be sexy, we want to live longer, why don’t we make the decisions that make those things possible?

Like yesterday, why did I not workout instead of watching The Mentalist?

 

What does it take to set a goal, and meet it. Well, it takes committing to yourself, because no one else is going to lace up those bootstraps, baby. Not your husband, not your best friend, not your children, not your personal trainer. Hire Jillian Michaels if you want to, but at the end of the day, it will all come down to how committed you are to yourself and your health. Not just verbally, not with pins on pinterest or quotes on facebook, but the get up early, jog 3 miles, doing pilates, eating vegetables, smoothies for breakfast, and no sweets, committed to getting yourself back on track and healthy. You. It’s a battle with yourself. Are you ready? Will you commit? Can you take on your habits, your desires, your chemical firestorms that screeeeaaaammmm for bad food? Can you handle the mental bootcamp?

I want to. I want to challenge myself, and meet my new self at the end. Join me? I could use support.

roosevelt_self_discipline_posters-r418b713d5b8a435a95df8d52622fb908_0dm_325

Leave a Reply

