Frugal Kitchen Tips: Flaxeggs in Baking

You’re probably wondering what in the world a “flaxegg” might be. I mean, there aren’t any animals named “flax” to lay such eggs…are there? No, not at all. Flaxseeds are used in vegan baking as an egg replacer. The simple explanation is that when baking One egg equals 1 tablespoon flax meal plus 3 tablespoons water.

Hodgson Mill Flaxseed Box image flaxeggs

When baking, the egg is included because it is a “binding agent”–meaning it holds the flour together and keeps it from falling apart. You don’t NEED a real egg to bind the flour together, anything with that same consistency and “sticky” quality will work. I’ve seen applesauce be used, of course “egg beaters” can be used, or even the stuff labeled in a carton called “egg replacer”. Not sure exactly what that last one actually contains, so it scares me personally. The flax egg has given me the most success (applesauce went horribly), so that’s the one I use now.

The reason I am including it here as one of my frugal kitchen tips is that recently my husband I got on the Dave Ramsey bandwagon of cutting back expenses and sticking to a budget. THE VERY SAME DAY like an idiot, I went to the store and spent $65 on breakfast foods, and if you can believe it I only bought 6 eggs in all of it. That grocery trip, per the budget, has to last us for 12 days (how I calculated that has a lot to do with how much we have allotted for the month for 3 people, but just trust me, 12 days). I wanted to “save” the eggs for breakfast as both my husband and my son actually have better mornings when they eat a “good breakfast” and for them eggs are a treat. So this morning when I wanted to make pancakes, I went hunting for my flaxseed. I had bought some a while back to help out a friend who was dealing with heart problems (flaxseed being a great add-in for anything you like the taste of it on, since it is amazingly heart healthy–more on that later) so I had basically a half a bag of flaxseed stored in mason jars in my cabinet. At a Tablespoon per “egg”, it goes a LONG way. As you can see, a bag of flaxseed (we bought the tiny one) is cheaper than eggs, and lasts sooo long, that I try to use flaxeggs in my baking whenever I can. I can’t taste the difference, and it’s cheaper. Yay! Save those eggs for breakfast. #happyhusband.

flaxseed whole vs ground

If you want to learn how to make the “perfect” flaxegg, Bonzai Aphrodite has a recipe for you here.  She uses whole flaxseed and grinds them herself (probably ideal) but I’ll tell you: I buy already ground and have not had any problems. I am not a huge baker, so maybe I just don’t have that preference yet based on my limited baking repertoire (?) but also I don’t really make that many gluten free recipes –which is where BonzaiA says the difference is really apparent. So if you’re baking gluten free (I’ll write about my thoughts on gluten free soon) but hopefully if you’re looking to save money on eggs, and make money go further, you can try out the flaxeggs in your kitchen and let me know how it goes 🙂

Thanks to these sites for the images:
Raw Rejuvenation & Wellness
Oh She Glows
Swanson Vitamins *

*I have not read Swanson Vitamin’s website, so I cannot in good faith recommend their site to you. All other image credits come from blogs I completely recommend and suggest you check out! 🙂 Swanson Vitamins.com is only listed because I believe in crediting photo sources, and well, the photo of the Hodgson Mill box came from their site. Thank you everyone!

Leave a Reply

