Homemade Apple Juice From Pink Lady Apples

How adorable are these? They are called Pink Lady apples. They are super sweet, and crunchy, and I love them!

Pink Lady Apple Barcode

Remember we talked about barcodes? You can tell this apple is organic because it has a five digit code starting with a 9. No GMOs here! Only healthy, happy, apples. I wrote more about GMOs here. (Click the image)

We joined a produce cooperative here where we live and the first delivery was yesterday. We ordered an entire case of pink lady apples (the coop delivers every two weeks, so we might have been a touch overzellous). Anyway, after we crammed as many apples as we could into our fridge –just look at our fridge! We. Are. Rabbits. 🙂 haha.

IMG_2366

The rest of the apples, we decided to juice. Turns out, it takes about 6 apples to make a pint of juice. Here’s how it works:
Step 1: Set up your juicer.

Breville makes a great juicer, it’s supposed to be top of the line, but mine works awesome and it’s the $100 version from Target. 🙂 Use what you like. I took this picture after I had started juicing. Yum!

IMG_2328

Step 2:Prep The Apples.

Wash your apples, remove the stickers, and cut into quarters. You can adjust the size of your apple slices to fit into your juicer. Quarters work best for me.

IMG_2321 IMG_2322

Step 3: Juice, Juice, Juice.

It took me 5-6 apples to fill up the 1L “catch container”?? Whatever the pitcher that catches the juice from the juicer is technically called, that thing, on mine is about a liter, and it takes 5-6 apples to fill it. As that container was filled, I transferred the juice over to a pitcher. I love Pampered Chef and I used the Pampered Chef mixing pitcher to pour my juice into. This particular pitcher helped me later as I wanted to drain off the froth that collects on top of the juice, but I will explain that next.

IMG_2330 IMG_2332IMG_2327

Step 4: Remove froth.

Froth is going to collect on top of your juice as you’re juicing, and I like to strain that off. There are a multitude of ways you can do this, but I have this process that works for me:

I take a clean white t-shirt and cut it up, so that it is one large white peice. (Basically–no arms, and I make slits in the sides.) Next, I spread the t-shirt over a wide mouth pitcher or half-gallon jar.

IMG_2333 IMG_2335 IMG_2336 IMG_2338 IMG_2339

The Pampered Chef pitcher has a small strainer on top and it sort of automatically pours out the juice ahead of the froth, so when I’m pouring over into the t-shirt laden container, the majority of the froth stays behind in the PC Pitcher while the t-shirt catches anything that might slip through.

Cheesecloth would likely work just as a great, but I didn’t have cheesecloth so we went the t-shirt route. Either works fine. The t-shirt does drain rather slow, so you can either pour fast and wait on it to drain, or pour slow and have short drain times in between. Whatever suits your patience level. 🙂 ha! Anyway, After you drain out the froth you’re ready to drink!

Step 5: Enjoy! I sealed mine in a half gallon ball jar and tied a cute ribbon around it because that was fun. Store it how you like, but do keep it in the fridge. I would discard any un-used juice after about a week. You can freeze it, too, and that will make it last longer.

IMG_2346 IMG_2358 IMG_2361 IMG_2363

Screen shot 2013-01-29 at 12.29.15 PM

One thought on “Homemade Apple Juice From Pink Lady Apples

  1. Pingback: Simple Vegan Apple Pancakes | Healthy Baby, Healthy Mom.

Leave a Reply

