Vegans who dye their hair

going crazy

Let’s start off by saying I’m not vegan. I am considering “converting” or a myriad of reasons, and I like to try vegan recipes as I almost always enjoy them. Lately, I’ve been looking into raw vegan. Do you guys have friends that eat raw vegan?

I’ve been watching a friend of mine deal with heart problems that a doctor straight told him could be prevented by a better diet and daily exercise (not even Insanity or P90X level, either, just daily walking). Read more about our journey here.

So. It got me thinking about what I put into my body. As I investigate this new “lifestyle” I’m interested to find out that almost no one takes it to every aspect of their lives (except my friend, Shannon, who is even conscious about her choice of winter coats to avoid real feathers) So kudos to her.

My question here is, I found a girl that was vegan, she was making vegan lucky charms. But she used red dye to create the color in her marshmallows. See her recipe here.

I asked her about the red dye, being that I had heard red dye was made from cockroaches (an animal, and albeit one I’m sure we can agree is horrid… good to eat? Maybe not). She wasn’t that concerned about eating the cockroach-infused red dye, and neither were many of her readers. I shrugged that off because my “healthy eating” includes chocolate chip cookies at the moment, so I cant really find fault with anyone over those issues.

But then I also find moms who make organic cleaners for their kids because they are concerned about harmful chemicals. See this blog for great recipes on homemade everything.

But many of these “household cleaner” Pinterest pinners and lye soap extraordinaire tend to eat meat. Chemical laden, hormone ridden, definitely not good for you and everything you tried to avoid with your cleaners, meat. Why?

What caused me to write this post, though was that I was reading this blog about a lady who had written 12 cookbooks as a vegan chef (very cool) and has wonderful tips on her blog about becoming a raw vegan, how to live as a raw vegan in an omnivore world, and I read her blog gratefully as she includes good content and certainly helpful material, but I can’t help but notice that she has two different hair colors. Are they different people? Maybe, but she identifies herself in both posts, one as a blonde, the other as a brunette. (compare banner image to about section) It could be a wig, I guess, but it got me thinking. Do vegans dye their hair? Presumably you are opposed to eating meat as not eating meat is the compassionate choice, but you might also be opposed to eating meat because of the chemicals and hormones in store bought meat. If that’s the case, how is it commiserate with your perspective on life to be ok with dyeing your hair? The chemicals in hair dye are known carcinogens. The same things you’re avoiding in what you eat, you’re allowing into your body through hair dye.

Let me separate this particular vegan blogger from my rant, as I have not talked with her and I don’t know what she does, and I don’t mean to presume anything. I just wonder what the options are for people who want to live–all of their lives–holistically. Do we all move to Africa and live in bark hut raising our own food and dying from malaria because modern medicine isn’t vegan? How far do we take this natural approach, and when do we bow to acknowledge the fallible nature of mankind and announce ourselves willing to take progressive action in the way of medicine, disposable cups, soap, and water filters, to keep ourselves safe because the natural world contains contaminants that have to be removed–for our sake–in unnatural ways. Is the pursuit of “as natural as possible” good enough? Or is there another moral stance to take?

In trying to take control of what I consume, and choosing to be conscious of my nutrients and intentional about my food, is that chasing something that’s unattainable in a  larger scope? If I choose to eat vegan, make my own natural cleaners and soaps, then also go to the doctor and get my son his vaccinations, am I a hypocrite? Help me! I feel like the guy from Ever After when he says “I used to think if I cared at all, I would have to care about everything, and I’d go stark raving mad.” Yep, that’s me.

tumblr_lqiarm1V471qgz2mco1_500

What do you do at home? When you’re raising your children and you explain to them why you are making healthful choices in their eating, how do you correlate those choices with other parts of your life that might be less natural?

What do you say to them?

2 thoughts on “Vegans who dye their hair

  1. i tend to draw the line when it comes to animals without a central nervous system (they can’t feel pain). while a bird would likely have to die (or suffer, at the very least) for a down coat and feel pain in the process, i don’t really feel it’s the same when it comes to insects. i know most vegans avoid honey, but i don’t. bees are physically incapable of feeling pain. granted, they respond to stimuli, sure. but it’s just not the same in my eyes. i figure if i’ll squash a spider in my kitchen, it’s not really different to eat honey on occasion.
    i’ve tried going mostly raw a few times but i find it a lot less satisfying and a lot more labor-intensive than i’m willing to undertake. but i think it’s great if you can swing it.
    i can’t speak on the subject of hair dye since i’ve never colored my hair before. but i do know there are natural hair dyes (like henna, for example) that could be an alternative to the traditional dyes.

    generally speaking, i think you just do the best you can without becoming obsessive. i try to use only biodegradable/naturally sourced cleaning and bath products and cosmetics. once you find the brands you like, it’s a no-brainer from there. you just buy those and not the others. i’ve also had some luck making my own cleaning products from things like vinegar and baking soda. eventually you get to the point where you have to make some concessions. this link (http://www.onegreenplanet.org/lifestyle/5-tips-on-how-to-be-a-happy-vegan/) sums up my thoughts pretty well (see #3). vegans live in a non-vegan world and there are some things we can’t really control so we just do the best we can.

  2. Hi Cassidy! What a great topic to discuss. I was greatly fascinated by what you had to say and think that you are right when you say that we are just to be the best that we can be. That is all we can really expect from ourselves and others as well. As for me, I really wanted to clarify that I, myself, am not a vegan. I might be acknowledged as a vegan blog and I also bake gluten-free and vegan most of the time, but that is because I have a dairy allergy and the smell of eggs tend to gross me out. This is why the red dye issue didn’t really bother me when you asked because I don’t come from a moral point-of-view on this subject. However, I completely respect anyone who does, not to mention 100% understand it.
    Love what you are doing!
    Cara from Fork and Beans

Leave a Reply

