Well, hello there brand new year of weight loss!

It was New Years Eve. Ryan Seacrest was counting down the ball drop (so appropriate, by the way, that he would count in Dick Clark’s place–they were good friends.) Anyway, as the seconds ticked away my husband and I looked at each other and said, “Ok, this is it. THIS is the year we’re going to reach those goals we set for ourselves.” and of course we kissed 🙂 <3.

But as the morning dawned on 2013, I realized that to reach my personal weight loss goals, it was going to take a lot of work. I was still inspired, but a little bit of reality came along with it. Wow, I have to sweat. I have to commit. I have to do this every. single. day. OOOOOk, then.

So despite not feeling it that day (tequila shots and many rounds of the Law and Order drinking game still ringing in my head–and stomach), I did NOT want to workout. I couldn’t stand to be my old self anymore though, so channeling my inner Pinterest board I thought of these two sayings:

and I can’t find the picture anymore about the guy who wakes up one morning and decides “I don’t want be this way anymore. So I changed. Simple as that.”

So into the dvd player went Jillian Michaels (the workout I know works, but that I HATE. really, ladies, I can’t stress enough how much I hate Jillian. but it works). I could not finish the entire thing. It’s like 7 circuits, and I did the first 3. Today, I did 4. Still hate Jillian, but am I sorry I’m doing this? Not yet. and I’m taking things one day at a time. Today, I am proud of myself. And while I have plans for tomorrow, I am not stressing out. I’m not looking up articles online about “how much Jillian circuit training should I do to lose x pounds.” as my husband put it, “Cassidy, you’re goal is to lose 3 pounds a week. Take it one week at a time.” Because staring at the 65 lbs I have left to go was stressing me.

What about you? How is your year beginning? Sticking to it?

Leave a Reply

