Reading makes me want to detox

peta-truthabouteatingAs many of you know, I am a social media marketer as my day job. As such, I am in love with infographics. So when I started looking into veganism, of course I turned to infographics to get my, well, info. Let’s just say, the more I learn, the more I like the idea of being vegan. I’m not making any commitments, (and I don’t think I’ll ever give up honey), but the idea of so much cholesterol (and pus???) makes me want to detox, pronto!

I did a two week detox about a month ago, and I kid you not, my body felt so much better. It wasn’t a lifestyle change I could maintain all the time (it was a juicing detox, and well, it was just not something I could do for more than about two weeks) But once I came off the detox, I was really more focused on what I put into my body (since it was a decent amount of work to clean up!)

It’s kind of like cleaning and organizing your closets. Once you do all the work to get it nice, clean, spick and span, you’re more deliberate about putting things back where they go and keeping it that way.

Of course, if you’re like me, “detox” comes around at regular intervals–because true to the closet analogy, we don’t always keep things as tidy as we might like.

If you’re interested in detoxing,  I would definitely talk to your doctor to be sure you’re going to be ok, maintain health, adn that the experience is good for your individual situation. Once you get the green light, though, there are a myriad of books available to help you get started.

Here’s on that I really like called “Vegan Flush”It’s eating vegan for a week to detox your body. You may have read on here that my husband and I are eating vegan for a week ourselves, so this book was right up our alley. Click Here to read more about it (cool infographic, too!) Let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

