The “I call it Chili for my non-vegan friends” Chunky Minestrone Soup

I wanted to eat healthy and cheap for movie night with friends. I opted to make my own vegan minestrone soup. My friends are the meat-and-potatoes type people, though, so I knew I would never sell them on the words “vegan” or “minestrone”. Instead, I thought “meatless chili” but even the “meatless” would probably turned off the husband of the couple that was coming over, so I just went with simple “chili”. Thus this recipe was born. Enjoy!

  • 6 tomatos
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 white onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • one bag of mixed dried beans (small bag. no spice packet)
  • cayenne pepper (1 Tbsp)
  • cumin (1 Tbsp)
  • 1/2c olive oil
  • water

Follow instructions on how to prep the beans. I soaked mine overnight in water, but you can also follow the “quick soak” instructions on the bag.

Then combine all the ingredients into the crockpot and cook the daylights out of it. I put mine in at 9 am and cooked on high until 430 when I turned it down to low until we served it. After I served the first round, we turned it off to prevent overcooking it. Top with crackers or sourcream (and leave these off, obviously, if you’re pure vegan), and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The “I call it Chili for my non-vegan friends” Chunky Minestrone Soup

  1. Pingback: Just a quick note about excercise | Healthy Baby Weight

  2. Pingback: Day 17: Friends, Movies, and Healthy Snacks. | Healthy Baby Weight

Leave a Reply

