A few Types of Abs Circuit Workouts

The Side Plank

This picture represents a side plank. You assume this position, pull your navel towards your spine, and hold for 20-30 seconds. I’ve made it to 30, I assume you can hold it for longer as you get stronger.

Leg Extensions

Leg extensions are (I’m told) typically done on a machine, as shown here. However, you CAN do them at home. Take a hand weight (and I would recommend going lighter than you think you can do for the first time, and build up to heavier) between your feet, and sit on the edge of a chair. Probably not in that order. Sit first, place weight second. Then just straighten your legs and bend them again, holding on to the edges of the chair for support.

If you’re like me, you can let your toddler sit on your feet, and lift him. 🙂

Pulldown

Your arms are up, and you pull them down. At home, you will likely use a weighted bar. In this image she uses a machine. If you’re at home, you can take a hand weight in either hand, hold them above your head, and pull down until your elbows are right angles, then repeat. In my case, I don’t have hand weights yet, so I use an extra shower curtain rod and put it above my head then pull down, the same motion as what’s pictured above, but at home.

Oblique V-ups (work those love handles, baby)

You do these exactly as pictured, 10 each side.

Back Extensions

Apparently there are a few hundred types of back extensions, so do your homework on what you need, but this is the one I do. Only I lean off the edge of the bed and my husband holds my feet for me so I don’t fall off. Ha! Once I join a gym, I will likely use a machine like what is shown .

Squats

As shown. You start standing, then you bend down into a squat position with your hands out in front of you. You can add a challenge by jumping when you come up. Right now, my rear muscles only tolerate me squatting and then standing back up normally. You show-offs, you.

Bridge

Depends on who you ask as to what the “bridge” is in terms of exercise. This first picture is the one I do when I say “I’m doing a bridge”. I have also seen this be called a plank, so I am not certain of the right term here, and likely it depends on who you ask. Assume this position and hold for 20-30 seconds. I’m a 25 second gal myself.

If you’re interested, here are two more exercises that are also called “bridge”. Again, do your homework, talk with a professional, your doctor, and figure out what you need and what works for you.

Crunches

This exercise has a myriad of varations, options, poses, and everything else. It’s a traditional workout most people are familiar with (And collectively hate) but they work. This pictured above is the one I do most often. I will sometimes do side to side crunches, as well as reverse crunches (where you raise and lower your legs instead of your feet). Any variation on the crunch is good.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

