How to cook a pumpkin

I had never cooked a pumpkin before, but in my wild aspirations of juicing for days, I had bought a plethora of vegetables and fruit. So in trying to actually use everything I bought, I had to discover how to cook a pumpkin. I googled it. I found several recipes, read them, and essentially created my own thing. Here’s the basics of how to cook a pumpkin.

Slice the pumpkin in half. (I was using a pie pumpkin, and not a huge one.)

cutting pumpkin in half

cutting pumpkin in half

Note, a bread knife does not work well. Chef’s knife was good. I employed my husband for the actual splitting in half of the pumpkin, but only because I’m a clutz with a knife. You could do it yourself. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Once you cut it in half, scoop out the innards.

pumpkin innards

pumpkin innards

Seeds, strings, everything in the middle, Scoop until the sides are clean.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spray oil (or rub olive oil) on a cookie sheet.

Place the pumpkin halves rind side up (so the part you just scraped is facing the pan).

place pumpkins face down on oiled cookie sheet

place pumpkins face down on oiled cookie sheet

Season them as you like, I cooked mine plain.

Bake on 400 degrees for 45 minutes.

bake pumpkin halves on 400 degree for 45 minutes

bake pumpkin halves on 400 degrees for 45 minutes

Once they are done, you can scoop out the cooked pumpkin, and it will work much like potatoes do as far as consistency and what to do with them. We mash them up, eat them like potatoes, you can purree them and use them in a pie, or you can add them to soup. The possiblities are endless, but that’s how you cook a pumpkin. Enjoy!

One thought on “How to cook a pumpkin

  1. Pingback: Day 5: Large dose of real life, and great friends. | Healthy Baby Weight

Leave a Reply

