Cassidy’s Granola

Here’s the recipe if you want to try it. You’ll be addicted.

Cassidy’s Granola

1/2 cup olive oil

1/2 cup honey

chopped berries and fruit (I like apples, cranberries, and strawberries. Usually it’s cranberries with either strawberries or apples, I haven’t tried apples and strawberries together, but how could that be bad? Experiment away and let me know what you like)

About 2 cups of rolled oats (I eyeballed the amount of oats, but it was about 2-3 cups)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

put oil in a pot on the stove (I used an iron skillet). get it warm on medium heat. Oil your measuring cup. I sprayed it with cooking oil, but rubbing some olive oil in it (Or simply use the cup you mesaured the olive oil in) to measure out the honey. By having an oiled measuring cup, you’re helping yourself because the honey will pour out easier. Though I still use a rubber spatula. Anyway, warm the oil (not boiling, just warm) then add the honey and stir.

Chop the berries and fruit while the oil is getting warm.

add the rolled oats. Pour in enough oats that they are well coated in the oil and honey but there is not enough liquid to be noticeable. You want to get that cookie dough feel from it. It will not stick together, but it should all be coated and soak up the oil and honey.

Then you mix in the berries and fruit. (some nuts, like walnuts, almonds, or macadamians would be great here too).

Since I used an iron skillet, I just transfer my skillet to the oven at this point, but if you’re using something that cannot go in the oven, you will want to transfer your mixture to a casserole dish. regular pyrex 9 x 13 works great. oil it first, then put mixture in the pan.

Cook in the oven on 350 for 10 minutes.

Once you remove it from the oven, simply scoop into a dish and serve. I eat mine with some milk added in, like cereal. My son likes his plain, and my nephew adds more honey. So you can play around with it, but the point is: once it’s warm, Enjoy!

One thought on “Cassidy’s Granola

  1. Pingback: Day 5: Large dose of real life, and great friends. | Healthy Baby Weight

Leave a Reply

