Day 1: So. Much. Juice. (& Nausea)

Ok, so I started day 1.
I decided to give the Joe Cross, Reboot Your Life guys a try. 1 pound a day for 60 days (or in my case, as long as I can stand it).

Husband and I went to Publix and bought a boat-load of produce—so much the cashier actually commented to us about “testing his knowledge of produce” in the checkout. haha.

It was about $90, and I think it will last a few days.
(Yes, days!) Husband is not thrilled, and neither am I , at the cost of this particular version of healthy, but we’ll see how this goes.

Anyway, we picked out several online recipes. I used the ones from rebootyourlife.com, and below is a list you can print also of recipes my first day. I included my notes about how they taste.

Update: Tonight I’m feeling crazy-nauseous. I thought it was this diet, but my husband is sick too. (??) We broke out the chicken noodle soup late tonight, (literally to prevent stomach expulsion–do you like my word choice, I’m trying to be delicate). Anyway, we’ll try this again tomorrow.

Recipe Lists

Cranberry Fall –yummy. This was my first recipe. Tasty, and it was November for me, so also very holiday-esque.
One cup of cranberries

One orange

One apple

Butternut squash (I omitted this)

4-6 leaves collard greens (I used Kale instead)

Lean Green Veggie Machine

4-5 large kale leaves

1 large handful of spinach

3 romaine leaves (I ommited this and added more spinach)

1 cucumber

3 celery stalks

1 green apple (I added two green apples, mine were small and I was scared of all the green)

1 lemon

Cherry Yummy

10 cherries

1 cup watermelon

½ c strawberries

1 tomato

1 small beet

½ c basil leaves

Cucumber Leafy Greens.

1 cucumber

4-6 celery stalks

3-4 big handfuls of leafy greens (any kind)

add an apple or lemon (or two) if you feel it’s not sweet enough.

Apple Pear Lime

1c green grapes

1 pear

1 lime

2 cucumbers

Beets & carrots

1 beet

1 carrot

2 oranges

½ c pumpkin (pumpkin, I found out on Day 2, does not juice well. Consider cooking the pumpkin first, blending it in a blender, and adding the juice from this recipe to make a type of smoothie.Same with butternut squash, or really any hard vegetable. I think they make juicers that can handle hard veggies, but I was scared to mess mine up, so I chose the cook and blend method instead. Happy Juicing!)

Kale and Such

1 bulk of kale

4 stalks celery

1 cucumber

2 granny smith apples

½ lemon

ginger root (about an inch)

Apple-Pear –I drank this one when I was feeling nauseous. The fruit is light and easy to drink, plus the ginger settles my stomach.

1 Apple
2 Pears
1 Piece Ginger (thumb sized)

Carrot-Kale Combo

1 Green Apple
3 Handfuls spinach
6-8 Kale Leaves
4 Large Carrots
1 Piece Ginger (thumb sized)

Green Lemonade –tried this one. It is VERY VEGGIE. It’s like drinking a green V8. I downed it Day 1, but I dreaded it Day 2. Not for newbies.

1 Green Apple
3 Handfuls Spinach
6-8 Kale Leaves
½ Cucumber
4 Celery Stalks
½ Lemon

All Green

Use as much greens as needed
Romaine Hearts
Kale or Collards
Spinach
2 Handfuls Parsley
2-3 Celery Stalks
½ Lemon
1 Piece Ginger (thumb sized)

Apple-Beet-Carrot

1 Apple
2 Beets
3 Large Carrots
1 Piece Ginger (thumb sized)
Spinach / Kale – (optional)

Spinach-Fennel-Cucumber

1 Fennel Bulb
1 Cucumber
2-3 Celery Stalks
Loads of Spinach

Mean Green

1 Bulk of kale
4 Stalks of celery
1 Cucumber
2 granny smith apples
½ lemon
Ginger root (thumb sized)

Leave a Reply

